Greek scientist Nikos Pelekanos was among three European scientists that received the Solar Innovation 2010 prize for his proposal "III-V nanowires for next generation photovoltaics".

The prize is awarded by the French Atomic Energy Commission (Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique), after an Open Call and selection among dozens of proposals, and includes funding and technical support to carry out research proposals for three years.

He shares the prize, which includes funding and technical support for the research proposal for three years, with scientists Tamzin Lafford at the European Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory and Vincent Renard at the Neel Institute at Grenoble.

Pelekanos received a PhD from Brown University in the United States and worked as a researcher in France for roughly 10 years (at CNET laboratories and the French Atomic Energy Commission) and at the Max Planck Institute in Germany. In 2001 he was appointed to a professorship at the University of Crete and the FORTH Institute at Heraklion, Crete.