Panathinaikos Athens won the Euroleague basketball cup for the sixth time in its history and the third in the last five years after beating Maccabi Tel Aviv 78-70 at the Palau Sant Jordi Arena in Barcelona on Sunday evening, in its 10 presence in the Euroleague's final four competition.
The "King" of Greek basketball returned to its "throne" and made its titles six(1996, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009, 2011). Panathinaikos' coach Zelimir Obradovic increased to eight the trophies he has won.
The 10-minute intervals had the following results: 15-22, 30-33, 43-54, 70-78.

Greece's Diamantidis wins Euroleague trophy

Dimitris Diamantidis, point guard of Panathinaikos Athens, was awarded his 6th Euroleague Basket MVP trophy during an awards ceremony in Barcelona on Saturday evening.
This marks the sixth time in the seven seasons since its inception that Diamandidis has won the Best Defender Trophy, and was also the first recipient of the award seven years ago.
This season, Diamantidis was the overwhelming top choice of Euroleague head coaches, who gave him more than double the votes of any other player.
Diamantidis was followed in the coaches' voting by three more players who put their teams in the Final Four: power forward Shaun Stonerook of Montepaschi Siena, and the Maccabi Electra Tel Aviv duo of guard Doron Perkins and forward Chuck Eidson.