Ruling PASOK on Friday tabled in parliament a motion calling for the establishment of a parliamentary preliminary investigation committee to probe possible criminal responsibilities of four former ministers in the Siemens kickbacks scandal.
The proposal, signed by 108 PASOK MPs, also calls for assessment of the evidence and charges by a three-member consultative council, as foreseen under the new law on ministerial accountability.
The four former ministers are Tassos Mantelis and Akis Tsochatzopoulos from PASOK, who are accused of accepting bribes at the expense of the state and money laundering, and George Alogoskoufis and Christos Markoyiannakis from New Democracy, who are accused of breach of faith.