The Cabinet on Tuesday named the three judges that will be promoted to the currently empty positions in the higher echelons of Greek justice, created when their occupants went into retirement at the end of June, 2011.
They include the posts of president and two vice-presidents in Greece's supreme court, the Areios Pagos, the vice-president of the country's supreme administrative court, the Council of State, two vice-president of the Court of Audit and the General Commissioner of State of Regular Administrative Courts.
At the recommendation of Justice Minister Miltiadis Papaioannou, the cabinet appointed Rena Asimakopoulou to president of the Areios Pagos, the first time that a woman has held this position in the history of the Greek judicial system.
Athanasios Koutromanos and Georgios Chrysikos were named vice-presidents of the Areios Pagos and Anastasios Gotsis was made vice president of the CoS. The vice-president positions at the Court of Audit went to Michail Zymis and Efrosyni Kramboviti while the position of General Commissioner to Eleni Diakomanoli, another historical first posting of a woman in this position.