The Greek Parliament observed on Wednesday a minute of silence in memory of those killed during the Turkish invasion of Cyprus on July 20,1974.
Parliament President Filippos Petsalnikos addressing the House said this was a sad anniversary, adding that this tragedy has led to the occupation of Cyprus' northern part for 37 years now and claimed the lives of thousands of people, causing grief and pain.
He noted that Nicosia remains the only divided European capital, adding that by invading Cyprus, Turkey violated the international law.
Petsalnikos wished for a solution to the Cyprus problem, noting that this is a fundamental priority for all political parties of the country and for Hellenism as a whole.
Cyprus has been divided since 1974 when Turkish troops invaded and occupied 37% of its territory.